05/08/20 Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update

By Hector Montemayor-Perez

KTSW Senior News Reporter 

SAN MARCOS, Texas – The Hays County Local Health Department has reported its second COVID-19 related fatality.

The individual who passed away on Thursday, May 7, was a 90-year-old Wimberly resident in their 90s. The person was counted in the existing Hays County reports and had been hospitalized about two weeks ago.

Hays County also reports four new cases, bringing the current number of active cases to 72. In total Hays County has now had 203 total lab-confirmed cases. Only eleven tests are currently pending and four persons are currently hospitalized. 

Hays County is partnering with the Texas Department of State Health Services and the Texas Army National Guard to offer free COVID-19 testing Sunday in Wimberly and Dripping Springs.

Although there will be no drive-up or drive-thru testing, the county will allow the public to register and make an appointment for COVID-19 testing. Registration contact information will be provided on Hays County’s website and Facebook page beginning at 8 a.m. on Saturday. If anyone wants a test they must register and go through a health screening to determine if a test will be ordered.

Share Your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s