attach_moneyBass and Bubbles September 18th

Football - Texas State

Sunbelt’s Upcoming Split between East and West

todayJune 1, 2017

share close

By Savannah Martin
Sports Reporter

It has finally been announced that in 2018, the Sunbelt Football Conference will be broken up into two five-team divisions; the east and the west. The east will consist of Appalachian State, Coastal Carolina, Georgia Southern, Georgia State, and Troy. The west will include Arkansas State, Louisiana-Monroe, Louisiana- Lafayette, South Alabama, and Texas State. Idaho and New Mexico State will be leaving the conference after the 2017 year.

With that being said, Sunbelt will now finally have a conference title game. The winners of each division will meet at the championship game. Championship games will be played at the home stadium of the team with the best College Football playoff ranking.

CCU Director of Athletics Matt Hogue says, “I like the divisions. It lines up a clear matchup for the championship game and helps build and strengthen the rivalries within the division.” I think the divisions are good for the league. This will add the championship game our conference has been lacking. It will be interesting to see how this new organization of teams will increase the level of competition.

Featured image by Madison Tyson.

Written by:

Rate it

Previous post


Chill Russell Visits Other Side Drive

By Kimberly Clay Other Side Drive Executive Producer Kimberly and Matthew invite Chill Russell, an alternative rock band from Austin, into the studio to discuss their successes and future endeavors. They cover everything from the meanings behind the lyrics to why none of them are named Russell. Their unique, collaborative sound has landed them performances for SXSW and MR Fest 2017, and the three piece band is looking forward to […]

todayMay 30, 2017 1

Post comments (0)

Leave a Reply

top Tracks

Team Members


  • Chart track


    Twin Plagues


  • Chart track


    City Slicker [EP]

    Ginger Root

  • Chart track


    Yesterday Park


  • Chart track


    Mood Variant

    Haitus Kaiyote

  • Chart track




Full tracklist

%d bloggers like this: