Hays County

Hays County 2023 General Election Guide

todayOctober 30, 2023 155

share close

By Ezekiel Ramirez

News Reporter

Early voting began for the Nov. 7 election. This year’s November election includes 14 state constitutional amendments that voters can approve or deny. San Marcos and other towns also have their own measures and official races on the ballot. Early voting opened Oct. 23 and will continue until Nov. 3.

Voter Registration

Voter registration for the upcoming election has closed. Students and San Marcos residents can use My Voter Portal to check their voter registration status in Hays County.

Polling Sites

Students are now able to vote at the LBJ Student Center room 3-21.3 during Early Voting and on Election Day. Polling sites are also open throughout Hays County. Voting locations can be found using the Hays County website.

Voting Times

Monday, Oct. 23 – Friday, Oct. 27: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 28: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 30 – Wednesday, Nov. 1: 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Thursday, Nov. 2 – Friday, Nov. 3: 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Election Day Hours

Tuesday, Nov. 7, 2023: 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

Ballot Measures

Texas voters will decide on 14 Texas Propositions. These Propositions cover a wide variety of topics including education, environmental circumstances, and property taxes. Check out the example master sample ballot for more details.

San Marcos

For San Marcos residents, the candidates for the Council member places are as followed:

City Council Place 3: Alyssa Garza

City Council Place 4: Shane Scott, “Atom Von”Arndt


Woodcreek voters will elect a mayor and two City Council members, and will be able to vote for one, two or none of the candidates.

Mayor: Bob Hambrick, Jeff Rasco (incumbent)

City Council: Jamie Bonniwell, Debra Hines (incumbent), Krista Richardson, Aurora F. Lebrun


Kyle voters will elect a mayor and a couple of positions on City Council:

Mayor: Yvonee Flores-Cale, Travis Mitchell (incumbent), Robert Ferguson, Linda Tenorio

City Council, District 2: Robert Rizo

City Council, District 4: Jake Webb, Marc McKinney, Claudia Zapata, Lauralee Harris

Mountain City

Voters in Mountain City will choose three Aldermen for this upcoming election and can vote for one, two, or three candidates:

Alderman: Suzanne Hallan (incumbent), Lee Taylor (incumbent), Eric James Miller, John L. Wilson, Chris Limmer

Wayside Municipal District

Wayside voters will have the opportunity to choose if they are for or against Propositions A-F, which can be viewed through the master ballot. A new Director Election for Wayside Municipal Utility of Hays County will be chosen, and voters can choose one, two, three, four, five, or none of them.

Director of Municipal Utility: Jacob Harris, Luke Stewart, Alexander Key Campbell IV, Matthew Dringenberg, Ryan Jones

Voting Essentials

IDs are needed to vote. Texas does not accept student IDs for voting. For those under the age of 70, IDs can be expired to up to four years. Voters over 70 are allowed to cast their ballot with expired IDs of any time.

This is a list of valid forms of ID for voting:

  • Texas driver’s license
  • Texas election identification certificate
  • Texas personal identification card
  • Texas handgun license
  • U.S. military identification card that includes the person’s photograph
  • U.S. citizenship certificate that includes the person’s photograph
  • U.S. passport

If you don’t have an ID, you can bring one of these accepted alternatives:

  • Government document showing your name and an address
  • Current utility bill
  • Bank statement
  • Government check
  • Paycheck
  • Birth Certificate

You will have to sign a form that says you had a reasonable impediment if you bring an alternative form of ID.

Voting by mail

Texas registered voters qualify to vote by mail if they:

  • Will be away from your county on Election Day and during early voting
  • Are sick or disabled
  • Are 65 or older on Election Day
  • Are confined in jail, but eligible to vote
  • Are expecting to give birth within three weeks before or after Election Day

The deadline to request a mail-in ballot passed on Friday, October 27. For more information about voting, click here.

Written by: Preethi Mangadu

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a Reply

top Tracks

Team Members


  • Chart track


    Echo The Diamond

    Margaret Glaspy

  • Chart track


    Just The Once [Single]


  • Chart track


    How Do You Sleep At Night?

    Teezo Touchdown

  • Chart track


    Ascension [EP]

    Sarah Kinsley

  • Chart track


    The Window

    Rat Boys

Full tracklist

%d bloggers like this: