Texas State will host 2024 presidential debate

todayNovember 20, 2023 60

share close

By Preethi Mangadu

News & Culture Director

Texas State University is hosting the first presidential debate to be held in Texas for the upcoming 2024 general election. 

The Commission on Presidential Debates announced the news this morning. The debate takes place Sept. 16 at the University Events Center. It will be one of four national general election debate sites. 

President Kelly Damphousse said in an email that after learning more about the responsibilities and roles the university will have in December, Texas State will host a university-wide forum to inform the Bobcat community more about the debate. 

Damphousse has charged the “​​TXST Debate Planning Task Force” to plan and execute the debate. Jack Martin, TXST alumnus and former Chair of the TSUS Board of Regents, will chair a “TXST Presidential Debate Committee” to further work on coordinating the event. 

“The debate provides our students the once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to personally engage with the democratic process,” said Damphousse in the email. “The TXST Debate Planning Task Force will develop an inclusive process to identify ways to incorporate this topic into curriculum and events when appropriate.”

TXST is the only university to graduate a U.S. president, President Lyndon B. Johnson. Damphousse said this is “a fitting tribute to our legacy.” 

“This is a chance for TXST and San Marcos to shine on the international stage like never before, with hundreds of media outlets descending on our campus before and during the event,” Damphousse said in the email.  

For more information, visit the TXST “Presidential Debate 2024” webpage.

Written by: Preethi Mangadu

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a Reply

top Tracks

Team Members


  • Chart track


    Solar Music

    Butcher Brown

  • Chart track


    Water Made Us

    Jamila Woods

  • Chart track


    Invite Me, Kindly [EP]


  • Chart track



    The Drums

  • Chart track


    Lazy Love[single]


Full tracklist