LBJ Museum to Celebrate 50th Anniversary of Voting Rights Acts

todayJuly 30, 2015 27 1

share close

Kasandra Garza
News Reporter 

LBJ Statue. Photo by Nathalie Cohetero
Photo by Nathalie Cohetero.

The Lyndon B. Johnson Museum of San Marcos and the Texas State University Political Science Department will be celebrating the 50th anniversary of the signing of the Voting Rights Act on Thursday, August 6th at 6 p.m. at the LBJ Museum.

The event is and the museum will be showing a video of Johnson’s speech and signing ceremony.

Larry Temple, Chairman of the LBJ Foundation and former Special Counsel to President Johnson during his presidency, will be the guest speaker for the celebration.

“The Voting Rights Act that President Johnson signed into law on Aug. 6, 1965 was landmark legislation that enfranchised black Americans and other minorities and changed the landscape of political leadership at every level of government,” said Dr. Ed Mihalkanin, President of the Board of the LBJ Museum of San Marcos.

The Voting Rights Act gave citizens the opportunity to register to vote by banning literacy tests and poll taxes.

The LBJ Museum is located on 131 N. Guadalupe Street in San Marcos. Following Temple’s speech, the museum will have an early celebration of Johnson’s 107th birthday with cake and punch.

Written by:

Rate it

Previous post

Bobcat Radio Logo

Bobcat Radio

Bobcat Radio: Best Of Week 4

Host: Trevor Sartin, Bethany Perales, Warren Schorr Georgia Southern Preview  Texas State Bobcats football team came up just a little short last year against the Georgia Southern Warhawks. The bobcats will travel to Stateborgo, GA  to look for a good fight on October 29. Interview with Joe Vozzelli   Joe answered some questions on how media days went in New Orleans, Louisiana, along with interviews with David Mims, and Robert Lowe. […]

todayJuly 29, 2015 23

Post comments (1)

Leave a Reply

top Tracks

Team Members


  • Chart track


    40 Oz. To Fresno

    Joyce Manor

  • Chart track


    Boleros Psicodélicos

    Adrian Quesada

  • Chart track


    The Zug

    Yves Jarvis

  • Chart track


    Deep In View


  • Chart track


    Strange Time Forever

    Marta Knight

Full tracklist

%d bloggers like this: