Grouplove – Spreading Rumours

todayNovember 8, 2013 52

share close

Grouplove - Spreading Rumours
Album Title: Spreading Rumours
Released: September 17th 2013
Label: Canvasback/Atlantic

Grouplove’s follow-up to their 2011 album Never Trust A Happy Song is an amazing and very eclectic record. Genre’s varying from synth pop/rock to grunge to acoustic, Grouplove’s Spreading Rumours is a masterpiece. The band has been touring their first album on the road since they released it late 2011. Night after night, they played many sold-out and energetic shows. Something many people that go to one of their show’s will tell you about them is that the show is usually a crazy and wild experience.  Right after they stopped touring, they hit the studio in order to harness some of that raw live energy. Many of the songs from Spreading Rumours were written while on the road and then brought into and recorded in the studio.

When listened to all the way through, Spreading Rumours is a definite departure from their original album, but still has that Grouplove style and feel. The opening track “I’m With You” sweeps you in with it’s melodic piano part that builds into a very symphonic, yet synthetic pop opening. The lead singer, Christian Zucconi’s soft falsetto sings “I’m with you, this is all I do now” in a light airy tone. The song quickly picks up into a pop/rock party with synth and loud yells by both Christian and keyboardist/vocalist Hannah Hooper. As this track ends suddenly, leaving you wanting more of it, the grungy and power rock song “Borderlines and Aliens” kick’s in and jams out with it’s groovin’ bass, kickin’ guitar, and killer drum parts by members Sean Gadd, Andrew Wessen, and Ryan Rabin, respectively. “Shark Attack” is another track to listen for. It’s rocking Beach Bash anthem, that has some strong synth that fits it perfectly. “Hippy Hill” has the band pledging it’s counter culture allegiance with the lyrics stating “I’d rather be a hippie than a hipster.” Then has this psychedelic synth breakdown that throws you for a loop. “Didn’t Have to Go” is a beautiful ballad written by Wessen and Hooper and sung by Hooper, which the band has stated is about a girl coming to grips with the suicide of Nirvana frontman Kurt Cobain. “Bitin’ The Bullet” is an interesting, experimental, and bouncy song. “Raspberry” is a rowdy rock rumpus. Finally ending the regular album is “Save The Party,” A nice acoustic ballad that is another perfect end to a Grouplove album. The deluxe album however, comes with three extra tracks. The indie electronica ballad “Girl”, the Catchy and upbeat “Flowers” and the trippy and weird, yet awesome, “Beans on Pizza.”

In all Grouplove’s Spreading Rumours is an diverse journey, and this indie band from L.A. has shown that they’re gonna keep on spreading that love and music that they do so well.

Reviewed by Sam Ramsey

Written by:

Rate it

Post comments (0)

Leave a Reply

top Tracks

Team Members


  • Chart track


    Just The Once [Single]


  • Chart track




  • Chart track


    Ascension [EP]

    Sarah Kinsley

  • Chart track


    The Window

    Rat Boys

  • Chart track


    It's Time [Single]

    Truth Club

Full tracklist

%d bloggers like this: