The image is a vaporwave looking graphic of green and blue silhouettes running down a street patterned with palm trees. On either side of the street, there are blue and sand buildings.

Post Animal: “Forward Motion Godyssey” Album Review

By Bridget Dunbar
Music Journalist

Artist: Post Animal
Album: Forward Motion Godyssey
Release Date: February 14, 2020

This year, the American psychedelic band Post Animal released their third studio album Forward Motion Godyssey. This is their third album, the previous two being from 2015 and 2018. The band consists of six members including Joe Keery of “Stranger Things” fame; he plays guitar. The other members are Dalton Allison on bass, Jake Hirshland on guitar and keyboard, Javi Reyes on guitar, Wesley Toledo on drums, and Matt Williams on guitar; they also all write the songs and sing leading vocals together.  

The album opens with the song “Your Life Away.” The slightly distorted vocals and electric guitar riffs give this song an ethereal feel that is a perfect way to open this album. As this song continues the instrumentals build into a climax and culminates into a classic guitar solo, which is really neat. The third song, “Schedule,” is one of my personal favorites. The song gives a beachy vibe: upbeat rhythm and vocals make one forget their worries. But the lyrics are rather melancholy, characteristic of this band’s style.  

Finally, the project closes with “Sifting.” This piece is slow and emotional, but to me, it’s the perfect way to end this record. This album can take you on a roller coaster of emotions and this piece encapsulates it all to me. During the bridge of the song, there are no vocals, only scary-sounding, goth-rock-esque instrumentals before fading away into a siren noise and keyboard and guitar riffs.  

All in all, this album was amazing. I highly recommend this album to anyone who enjoys psychedelic rock. Their previous projects all have a similar style to this one: psychedelic, emotional, and drifting. I also highly recommend this band and I cannot wait to see what they will do in the future! 

Featured image via Post Animal.

Share Your Thoughts

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s